top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShante Shanelle

BEWARE OF THE CHOP SHOP!!

Updated: Sep 13, 2019

There are so many of you out there that have heard of some nail salons (Chop Shop) horror stories throughout your years of getting your nail done at the nail salons.

Disclaimer: this IS NOT a post that is aiming to demean Asian owned nail salons (even though some will be mentioned NOT by name) AT ALL. It IS NOT a post that is telling anyone to stay away from Asian owned nail salons. The fact of the matter is that as with everything there's Good and Bad. There are very good nail salons out there that treat their clients in a professional manner and practice proper protocols in nail care. And there are bad nail salons that treat their customer unprofessionally and don't follow the proper protocol in nail care.

Keep in mind this is one of my most memorable experiences over the years that I have been getting my nails done.It is also my goal in this post to education you on on what to look for when you visit these shops that will raise red flags.

I started getting my nails done at the tender age of 18.... Yes 18 years old age. I was a late bloomer to the nail game. Hey what can I say I grew up Pentecostal ...enough said about that lol... anywho. I started going the one particular Asian owned nail salon in the South Bronx. I had it in my mind that I was going to get a full acrylic set and a pedicure. Upon walking into the shop I was asked what service/services I was going to be receiving. Now it was not said in those exact words, but that was what I was able to make out if you get my drift. I was told what table to go to using a finger point. I seat at the table that had a dust coating on it. I figured it was from the service the tech provided before me (RED FLAGS#1). The nail tech immediately started on my hands (RED FLAG#2). The first thing the tech did was using the electric file (drill) on my natural nails (RED FLAG#3). Then the he applied the tips and started the acrylic application. After completing the acrylic set it was time to get my pedicure. I walked over to the pedicure station and as I was walking over I saw a long stick standing up in one of the pedicure stations. Then another nail tech came out from the back and walked over to the station pulled the stick up lo and behold out was a mop head...(RED FLAG#4).The tech was not even bothered or caring that I had seen such a thing. She then proceeded to mop the floor with the mop and then stuck the mop back into the pedicure station it was at that very moment that I refused a pedicure service paid for my full set and never returned.

The unfortunate part was that I had been there before even receiving pedicures services and never seen that happen. I was not even interested in having a nail career at the time and knew that that right there was not suppose to be done. Now in this story I identified 4 red flags. Allow to explain what the proper protocol your nail tech/manicurist is suppose to take.

For Red Flag #1 The nail tech/manicurist station should be completely clean disinfected no trace of dust or particulars from a previous service.

For Red Flag#2 When you enter into the salon you and your nail tech are suppose to wash your hands their will remove dirt, oil from lotion, and germs before the service beings.

For Red Flag#3 The E-file is not supposed to be use directly on the natural nail. It is wayyy to course and can cause the name plate to be stripped too much and cause "rings of fire" on the nail. This causes the nail plate to become thin over time.

For Red Flag#4 This is a no brainier it is never okay for a nail tech/manicurist to use the pedicure station as a mop bucket. Using a pedicure station to mop a floor can cause client to be susceptible to staph infections in particular.

It is extremely important for a nail salon to be meticulous, clean , and sterile. As the saying goes "cleanliness is next to godliness". A clients safety as well as the nail tech/manicurist safety is of the utmost importance. Also make sure that the implements that that the nail tech/manicurist are being soaked in barbicide. It is a blue fluid that disinfects implements. It is usually in a glass jar filled with blue liquid. Nail tech/manicurist usually have them on their stations.

[caption id="" align="alignnone" width="213"]📷 Example of a Barbicide Jar used to disinfecant implements[/caption][caption id="" align="alignnone" width="206"]📷 Example of salon implements that are to be cleaned disinfected and sterilized[/caption][caption id="" align="alignnone" width="233"]📷 Example of implements not being stored and sterilized properly[/caption]

Chop shops as I call them are infamous for practicing unsafe techniques and maintenance in the salons that have the potential to open its customers to infections. I know that many of you have heard horror stories, and some may have their own personal horror story of them time in chop hop nail salons. I encourage you to comment and give us some of your stories and experiences in chop shops.

Until next time Have a Blingtastic Day!

3,119 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page