top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShante Shanelle

Happy Feet (Part 3)

As I young women I was really hard on my feet. I mean I jump double dutch bare footed and raced the neighborhood boys bare footed, hopped fences you name I was able to do it with no shoes on. I was bit of a tomboy growing up. Of course I have glammed up a little bit over the years finally learning how to strut my stuff in heels. In the process of wearing heels I had many days when I would simply kick them off and walk on the concrete with my bare feet . NO SHAME IN MY GAME.

As I older my feet began to get super rough, to the point where it looked like I was kicking flour even after I applied lotion to my feet. I am sure I shredded many bed sheets in those days. When I received pedicures during these times the nail techs would pull out the cheese grater (correct term Foot File). Man oh man did he/she go to work on my feet, I would get up from my service feeling as if I was 2ft shorter.

Over time I finally decided to take better care of my feet, but the roughness of my feet continued even though I was getting pedicures on a regular basis. I thought I had a fungus of some sort so I stopped getting pedicures. I started to work on my own feet and just used pumice stones. Boy I can remember feeling like it took hours to get my heels smooth. After I set a routine schedule of doing my feet I noticed that they were not getting as rough a they once were between each DIY pedicure. It wasn't until I studied pedicures in school that I  found out what was going on with my feet at that time.

CALLUSES VS. FOOT FILE

Calluses as it pertains to the feet area are toughened compacted dead skin cells on the feet. Calluses become relatively thick and hard in response to repeated friction, pressure, or other irritation. They will not endanger your feet unless you have circulation problems of some kind, or unless they grow in an abnormal manner. The common places that calluses form on the feet are:

  •  big toe

  • under sides of the feet

  • heels

  • ball of the foot (common in high heel wearers)

[caption id="" align="alignleft" width="252"]📷 Foot File AKA Cheese Grater[/caption]

When receiving a pedicure the foot file aka cheese grater this implement is not supposed to be used. Nail techs are taught in nail care programs  that using this tool on the foot is the cutting of living tissue. Therefore it is a procedure in which only people with a medical license is suppose to handle. When cutting off the calluses it is technically a surgical procedure for a licensed  podiatrist to perform. I know you have seen these in chop shops BUT it does not make it right and something that suppose to be done. SIDE NOTE: When the callus is cut or removed the skin tends to grow back thicker and harder to replace the what was removed. Case and point as to why my feet seemed to get rougher and rougher in between pedicure services.

[caption id="" align="alignright" width="235"]📷 Disposable Pumice Bar[/caption]

The best way to have smooth soft feet to avoid slicing your bed sheets with your heels it to use a disposable pumice bar. These can be used while you are in the shower. The can be bought online packs and are very inexpensive.  These are single use item that MUST be thrown away after every service and use. Your feet will thank you and it is a good way to touch up your feet in between pedi services.

[caption id="" align="alignleft" width="222"]📷 Traditional Pumice Stone[/caption]

This is a traditional pumice meant for personal use. This pumice stone IS NOT to be used on clients. It can not be properly cleaned and disinfected. Cross contamination can occur between clients if used. I would even safely say not to even use it on yourself for the same reason. These stones can not be properly cleaned due to them being very porous this would be the perfect breeding ground for bacteria to multiple and live.

If calluses are a true concern for you I would suggest that you try to get a disposable pumice bar and use it in between your pedicure services at home. For extreme cases I would suggest that you see a podiatrist. Where you will be able to have them removed properly BUT keep in mind that they will return thicker and harder. The nail salon is NOT suppose to be the place where extreme cases of callus build up is treated.

Take the high road your feet will thank you.

I truly hope you enjoyed the Happy Feet Series !!

Have a Blingstatic Day !!!!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page