top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShante Shanelle

Welcome to My World

Updated: Sep 13, 2019

📷

My love of artificial nails started at a tender age. I remember going to the Beauty Supply Store in South Side Jamaica Queens NY where I grew up to buy a pack of nail tips, nail glue, and some nail stickers/decals. I would glue those tips on to my little finger and file them until they blended with my natural nail, most of the time over filing my nails. OUCHY..but Boy did I think I was flossing with them tips on when I was done LOL. That was until they popped off minutes later LOL.

Over the years I have become more and more fascinated with nail art. At first was the airbrush era, then it was the french tip era, then the two finger nails design era. But it was until I discovered the rhinestone tips that I fell in love with nail art game. Since then blinging out my nails was a MUST have.. at any expense. I loved all of the attention that I received on my nails. (I am kind of  an attention whore LOL...I am a LEO can you blame me LOL).

Once I moved to Atlanta in 2013 I started a quest in finding a dope nail tech that was going to pimp my nails. Unfortunately I was unable to find nail techs that fit my level of creatively and the wow factor that I was looking for in a nail tech. Also the shops that I did go to damaged my nails so bad to the point where my nails were as thin as paper literally. So I had to take a break from getting my nails done for a while which was a huge bummer. I had to nurse my nails back to health.

In February of this year (2017) I started watching Youtube videos on how to silk wrap my nails it was fairly easy and my nails gained their strength back. I then started to watch videos on how to apply acrylic properly by professionals. I started to compare techniques that I saw. I started to buy products after researching different brands and settled on a brand that I felt comfortable with.

I bought implements  and then I found daily charme website that had all kinds of charms glitters, polishes, swarovski crystals you name it they got it. I learned how to properly take tips off etc. There was so much information on the web that I kept working on my nails. I started getting so many compliments on my nails as time went on I never told anyone I did my nails. One day I went to work with this set below

Every one was floored when I admitted for the first time that I did my nails myself.  I was told "Girl... you did both hands ... you need to be in business". At that moment Nellie Bean Nail Studio was born. I have wanted to start a business for many many years. I never knew what to do. I could draw yes but I found out throughout the years that people are not willing to pay for art. At least the people that I knew at the time. They wanted logos to be done and for it to be free or give me $25 AND they never used the sketches I took time to develop nor gave me credit when they did use it. Since that day I have come so far and learned so much. It is now time to follow through and become an official licensed Nail Tech.

The purpose of this blog is to express my passion for nail art as well as share information to those that are aspiring to become nail techs. As I learn I will teach and inform, to share information to public about things they need to look out of in salons that they may visit. Because some of those salons out there are SHHHAAADYYY  lol. I also want to showcase nail art sets that I come up with. I also would like my readers to challenge me and through some ideas and concepts out there for me to try.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page